Getting started building rifles

Wyo220

Hello all
I have been lurking here for some time. I respect the knowlage here very much which is why I am asking these questions here.
Heres the situation. I am a machinist by trade in a surface coal mine. I build my own rifles both on rem 700's and some customs at home on my machines. I do not have an ffl or any insurance. I have a couple friends that are into long range and both keep bugging me to build them a rifle. I keep telling them no based on liability reasons. One of them asked me the other day what the liability is. What he was getting at is he wants me to chamber a barrel for him and then he would put it together. So…
1) If someone supplies an action and barrell can I legally chamber it and charge for my service with out any kind of an ffl?
2) If the above situation is legal and I did the work what proof load requirements are there?
3) What ultimate liability or documentation would I be responsible for if I did the above work?
Thanks in advance.
Kyle

The concept of liability says that if you do something, anything, and someone else gets hurt or worst and it can be linked to you, you can be sued for anything and everything.

Legally there are ways to limit the losses and exposures, through insurance, incorporation, contracting, hold harmless agreements, so on and so forth.

So, he wants you to chamber his barrel for him? Whose dies, what chamber, what loads, how will it be used, who will use it, handloads or factory, etc, etc.

What could possibly go wrong, and what could happen if it does?

Now you get a small idea why gunsmiths carry $5 million in liability insurance, not to mention BATF regs, federal, state and local laws.

Now if I owned it, different story.

Larry
Tinkerer

There is no liability if you don't do it.