Gauging interest - NM long range hunting matches

Discussion in 'Long Range Competition' started by cwinner, Oct 30, 2018.

1. cwinner

cwinner Well-Known Member

Kicking around a concept with some other New Mexico long range shooters about developing a series of field style long range matches geared towards long range hunters.... I've been shooting PRS/NRL style matches since 2012 with a lot of Sporting Rifle and CD matches thrown in and I really love the field style matches.

New Mexico has such great terrain it seems like a natural fit..... thinking 3-4 events through the summer with a finale in early September before hunting season!

Course of fire would be hunting rifle friendly with targets out to 1k or greater and no more than 5/6
    Shots per stage to limit barrel wear on the average hunting type rifle..... use whatever gear you'd carry all day hunting and whoever hits the most targets wins! Could do a small entry fee and payback 80% or so to a predetermined percentage of entires, lots of options to make it interesting.

There's a pretty good network of guys in the state with experience running local and national level matches that are interested and thought I'd see if there may be any interest......

I know the match concept may be new to many hunters but with the growth of LRH in general it would not only offer great experience and training but a little friendly competetion, kind of like the 3D archery shoots.

Thoughts???

2. rafterfp

rafterfp Well-Known Member

Great Idea, would def be interested.

3. rynomar

rynomar Active Member

Definitely interested and know several others that would be too. I might even have a location that could be used for a shoot, but I will have to look into how feasible it would be and what the liability insurance requirements would be.

4. codym

codym Active Member