Full length sizing vs. neck sizing 338 Lapua

TLD338

I've been reloading for a few years now, and have run across varing oppinions on the case sizing issue. For me, I full length size my brass for semi autos to help them cycle, but for the bolt guns I only neck size them and leave the case fire formed to the chamber.

What would be the bennifit to full length sizing for the bolt guns? My method has served me well in the past, but I'm trying to work up an accuracy load for my recently accuired Savage 110 FCP in 338 Lapua and see that there are a lot of folks FL sizing there brass.

My current load is producing 1" groups at 200yds. and I'm pretty satisfied with that....But.....what if it was 3/4" at 200yds....gun)

Here's where I'm at right now.

Savage 110 FCP w/ nightforce 5.5-22x50
Lapua brass
Winchester large magnum primers
Barnes 280gn LRX bullets
seated to .010 off rifleing
83gns of retumbo
Chrono at 2600 fps.

Any input y'all might have would be greatly appreciated

I now full length size after running into a little trouble by only necking the 338 LM. After a firing or two the shoulder needs to be kept back. Running tight against the shoulder with a little bit of a firm bolt close will result in a pressure increase. This can result is hard extraction or at least inconstant velocities.

But the proper way to keep shoulder in check and not over size them comes by using good dies and knowledge of how to set them up. I use Redding comp ides and do the neck and shoulder in two steps with stepped shell holders that alow me to only bump the shoulders back .001 ~ .002. When I run the brass through the body die to set shoulder some that have not grown get nothing, some get the shoulder touches just a bit. The point is if they need it they get it. If they don't they don't. This results in my brass being as close to the same spec. all the time. At least this works well for me.

So, yeah. Full size if you can do it without over sizing your brass down too much.

Jeff