Free Floating Problem

j_unzicker

I have a Remington 700 BDL 7RM (factory walnut stock). I noticed that the forend had a contact point against the barrel about an 1" long. Other than that, the barrel was free. (this spot was right where the swivel stud connects from below).
So I hand sanded that area down until I could run a piece of paper under the barrel through that spot and down the whole barrel.
Took it to the range and my groups actually opened up a little. I was shooting right at 1 MOA and now I am closer to 1.5 MOA.
My question is, "Do some of the factory wood Rem 700 stocks need a pressure point to shoot more accurately?" I guess I just assumed that all barrels would shoot better free floated. Would you suggest that I do anything to recreate a pressure point in that same area? The action is not bedded.
Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

While I am not a pro gun plumber, I have built and/or worked on a few dozen bolt guns and I have yet to find one that shot better with a pressure bedded barrel. Perhaps I have just been lucky, but every gun has performed more consistently after a good bedding job. The most dramatic was a Win 70 Classic in 338Win Mag. It shot 4" groups with the crap hot melt glue bedding compound. I removed that crap and did a proper pillar bedding job and the gun is sub MOA. Your gun sounds like a prime candidate for a good bedding job.

When I float a barrel, I do go a bit farther than a $ bill or a sheet of paper clearance. On a stock with a rigid forearm, I will go ~.050" clearance. If it has an injection molded stock, sometimes double that to keep it from touching during recoil.