For those who NEVER clean their bore, or almost never

You need a bore scope.

this is how fake news gets shared all over the net. You read or heard about this or that.

I started shooting competitively in 1968, and stated shooting p. dogs in the late 70's, rock chucks, jack rabbits, and ground squirrels. I went through many, many thousands of rounds a year. I have had access to a bore scope since the late 80's. My p. dog hunting partner and I used to order 10 Hart barrels at a time.

I have looked down the bore of a few tikka's and they can not hold a candle to the quality of a Brux, Lilja, Krieger, Hart, Shilen, Bartline, etc.

If you are serious about your accuracy, buy a bore scope, clean your barrel, measure the over all length of the bullet to the lands, frequently and maintain that distance as the leade grows. Chronograph the most accurate load tested, and over time when the bore wears, you will have to add a few tenths more powder to bring up the pressure to where it once was.

I didn't mean they have smooth bores in a universal sense, but it's generally said they're really smooth for a factory barrel. Of course they won't hold a candle to a quality aftermarket barrel. It's not much different than the fake news that was spread verbally at the local hangout 30 years ago before this forum existed ;)

Ryan, you are correct. In most cases the Tika barrels are very nice. Barrel quality on a lot of factory rifles have come a long ways in the past 10 years, Ruger Mark II Stainless are extremely nice compared to when Bill Ruger was living.

For many of us on this site, 1.5 MOA at 600 yards is Recurve Bow Accuracy. Thus the discussion on Bore scope used in conjunction with cleaning techniques, which goes hand in hand with Cartridge OAL to the lands. Start at the Start.

Last edited: