Fitting Aftermarket Barrel w/ Different Contour to Factory Stock

jlarose85

So this is just a general question that I thought about while looking at new rifles. Mind you I'm pretty new to bolt guns (or at least modifying / building them). If you're putting an aftermarket barrel on a factory rifle and the new barrel has a bigger contour than what was on the rifle originally, how do you remedy that? Would you just have to grind or dremel out the area under the barrel so it will be free floated again? I know you don't want the barrel and the stock to make contact and that's the only way I can think of that would fix it.

Appreciate the help y'all!

They make scraper tools. OI use a sanding drum. Dremel tools work if you have void control. I then just use a long dowel and staple sand paper around it. If wood you can stain then seal it. If I seal it I usually just polyurethane it. Plastic et all I will paint it.

Wrap the barrel lengthwise three times in masking tape and place it in the stock (it won't fit).
Wrap sand paper around the barrel and work it back and forth.
You will have to adjust it a little as you go by lifting up on the action so the sandpaper will clear it, but just remember to keep the sandpaper "tight and uniform" around the barrel. Eventually the barrel will slip into its natural position. Run your paper for proper float. Once you take off the tape, you should have good clearance all the way around. This has been the best way to ensure even removal, just enough. I have tried the dowel and socket, but they get uneven wear for me and one side gets too much removed.

Best to have a smith use a mill...

Best to have a smith use a mill...
What would this cost? Smiths I know could not even get it in for months and probably $150.