first long range hunting build

brodiemn27

HI there, I am looking to build my first dedicated long range hunting rifle. I am pretty set on 300 WSM, but am considering 300 win mag. I think I want the short mag because of weight and will be using this on long elk hunts. I am new to long range hunting and have never built a gun from the ground up, so any advice is appreciated.

I have done a bit of research and think I want the HS Precision PST007 stock. I have heard good things about the savage actions, but I don't want a single shot action, and that is all I can seem to find for 300 WSM. Really I have just started looking around, and like I said am new to this area, so if you all could point me in the right direction for this build I would truly appreciate it. Also, am I going about this the wrong way by doing a complete ground up build, should I start with a base rifle and do a semi custom build? I would prefer to do complete custom, but maybe I am biting off more than I can chew..

Thanks guys

You're olnly losing about 1-1.5oz going with a short mag action vs full length mag action.

Not enough gain to mess with it as far as I'm concerned.

There's also the simple fact that no matter where you travel on a hunting trip should you get separated from your custom/handloaded ammo you can find 300wm ammo any place ammo is sold whereas you may have a difficult time finding wsm ammo at the local hardware store.