First long range gun

ATT

Newbie here. I'm looking to customize my first long range weapon. I have a Winchester M 70 classic stainless with the BOSS brake. It is topped with a leupold vx3 6.5-20x50 LR.

I hunt midwest deer (500yds to 800yds is reasonable on my land) and will also be traveling to Colorado to hunt deer and elk starting this year.

I plan on using this action but am open to suggestions on replacing or changing/re-working anything. I am sold on the round. I like muzzle brakes. I would like a thumbhole stock if I don't have to sacrifice accuracy.

I'm asking for you guys to point me in the right direction on what I need to do to this gun. This forum is awesome because of the feedback y'all give.

ATT

The action you have is a good one and can be made to shoot as well as any other if the smith want to work on it. Not sure what round you are "sold on" so I can't realy say what length barrel you would be best of with , if its a magnum like a 7mm rem mag or 300 win mag I'd say a 26" minimum length if its an Ultra mag then I say 28" to get the most out of it.

Get a good barrel for it say in the #5 conture or heavier so it won't walk as fast after 2-3 shots and get a good brake for it , Boyds makes some deciant stocks , HS precision , McMillan and Manners make some realy nice thumbholes also.

Is their any sort of size or weight restrictions your looking for? What caliber are you wanting and do you reload?

Thanks for the quick reply. The rifle is in 300 win mag and the action is at the suggestion of my smith.

I would like to see some suggestions on weight and size as I've never hunted in the west and primarly hunt from a stand or blind in the southeast and midwest. I am looking for a very accurate hunting rig that I will do some target shooting with also just because I enjoy shooting.

As for handloading, I'm just beginning to explore so any suggestions there are appreciated as well. I have shot premium factory loads till now.