First DIY Wyoming antelope advise needed!

XboltLRH7mm

Been a long time fan of this forum. This is my first time posting, so thanks in advance for any help. Me and a buddy are headed to wyoming the 3rd week end of October to try our hand at antelope hunting. Its been kind of a last minute thing. We decided we were gonna get our deer hunting group together and put in for tags for the 2015 season. But didn't want to drag everyone out there blindly so we bought leftover doe tags and are going out this year to kinda get an idea of what we will all be up against next year. And hopefully bag a couple does. We got tags for unit 24 and would greatly appreciate help on towns/hotels and availible public land that might be worth while in unit 24. Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated!

Gillette is the town you'll find anything you need. Wright and Moorcroft are small but have hotels and food. There is public land in your area, Thunder Basin Nat'l Grassland. SE corner. If you a GPS get the public land chip {X-Maps} I think. Coal mines cover a lot property. If you'll notice there is an astric next to this area. It means there could be trouble getting access.

There has been a discussion about several Wy hunt areas for antelope here . Try the search feature. There is some great help available. Good luck. Bruce

First off, get a chip for your GPS. It will show you where the public land is. I've got one of these and it is excellent.

Hunting GPS Maps - Public/Private Land Ownership names for your GPS

Next a good pair of boots and good optics will help a lot. In terms of the hunting, try to find a water source as this will concentrate the antelope into a small area.

Here are some write-ups from the past that might be helpful...

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f17/2-va-lrhers-eastern-wy-78874/

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f17/stalking-1-mile-shot-116232/