First 1500 yard hit + a 870 yard dog

coych

Today I amazed myself by hitting my first target at 1500 yards, not only once but 5 times in a row. After months of tinkering I finally got the load dialed in just right for my rifle. Granted its a large target but I am extremely new to this. I fired 6 shots with my Savage 111 LRH in 338 Lapua while my shooting partner shot 8 out of his 110 BA hitting the target 4 times at 1500 yards. For a stock rifle and a couple amateurs I am amazed at what these factory rifles can do at such extreme ranges.
As if the day could not possibly get any better, we spotted a lone coyote out in the field on our way out of the hills and got set up. we ranged her at 870 yards, doped the scope and that 300gr. Berger Tactical OTM made a nice little hole right through her head. I realize luck had the biggest part of that shot but I cannot help but be ecstatic with the results. after all, 6 months ago I thought 300 yards was a long shot!

:)

Savage 111 LRH 338 Lapua
Nightforce NXS 8x32x56
300 Gr. Berger Tactical OTM
89.5 Gr. Retumbo
2670 fps
3.750" OACL

Attachments

• 009.jpg
    009.jpg
    186 KB · Views: 26
Great picture and story. I hope you stay with it. The sport has really moved in my lifetime, interesting to think about how far you young guys may push it someday.

Thanks for your support! I feel like something needs to break me away from this sport because I am so addicted it's starting to hurt my checkbook. The wind was phenomenal, at 1500 yards we were holding only 1/4 to 1/2 MOA. on the dog I didn't correct for wind at all and that worked out well. Extremely lucky with the absence of wind since it seems like the wind never stops here in Montana