Fireforming .280 AI from .280 Remington brass or .270 Win brass?

Alibiiv

I have read a number of threads here about fire forming brass for the .280 Ackley Improved. I have been reloading for many years and have done some fire forming, however not a whole lot. I am about to have a .280 Ackley Improved (SAAMI) built for me. I've found that regular, unprimed brass is quite expensive (Nosler @ 1.75/round) and the factory loaded ammunition even more expensive. I have found loaded .280 Remington ammunition ($30 for 20 rounds) to be about half the price of the .280 Ackley Improved, unprimed brass. I believe that I have read in one of these threads that it is possible to shoot the loaded .280 Remington brass in the .280AI Chamber and get fireformed brass from this process. To me this is not a bad deal if one considers priming, and powder and a bullet because if I am going to fireform brass from any other caliber, .270/30-06, I will have the expense of priming, and powder and a bullet. Is annealing recommended prior to fireforming? I am planning on Whidden dies made to the specs of the chamber reamer. I've read a lot of information in all the the threads on this site, however asking again in an effort to get as much information that I can in one posting.

It'll work fine, may take 2 firings to fully form. I wouldn't use 06 brass as necks are too short. If you use factory ammo, you may not get brass that will last very long, unless you can find Norma-cased 280 loads.

If you're gonna start from scratch, I'd start with RWS .270 brass for longer life. Other option would be Nosler a.i., good brass life and simple, "buy once, cry once".

Last edited: