Exposed windage turrets for hunting.

VLD Pilot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2017
Messages
1,974
Location
Northern, Mi
Obviously this thread is about exposed windage, elevation turrets but having both exposed (without caps) and scopes with tall turrets that do have screw on caps, they are just as user friendly. I don't think the exposed has any advantages over the capped turrets, especially if I have to dial for range. Removing the cap is occuring when I'm setting the rifle up for the shot. No time is ever lost in the process removing a turret cap. Couple of my Sightron's have the caps over the tall turrets and some of them do not. I do love my Leupold VX5HD CDS dials a bit more but mostly due to the low profile and auto locking(zero stop) feature.
 

Shane Lindsey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2010
Messages
1,515
Yes exposed turrets always seem to shift on me. May be the way it rubs my body or equipment as I hold it. I actually put a big yellow "0" on the flip up cap on on one of my scopes to remind me to check dope first.

As mentioned, part if the pre-flight checklist. Open bi-pod legs, throw rear bag down, emplace rifle, flip up caps, check zero/turrets, etc.....
 

sobrbiker

Active Member
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
34
Location
Sunny AZ
tape on the turret and reminder in the cap-been on my scope for years...

32802D34-6FD8-4F06-B064-3C92014104BC.jpeg
 

brant89

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
342
Location
Southern Michigan
Putting a reminder on your scope to check your turrets only works as long as the windage turret isn't rotated 180 degrees as has happened to me twice. At that point which way do you turn the windage turret to zero it? 50/50 chance that it's either back to zero or another 6MOA off.
 

VLD Pilot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2017
Messages
1,974
Location
Northern, Mi
Putting a reminder on your scope to check your turrets only works as long as the windage turret isn't rotated 180 degrees as has happened to me twice. At that point which way do you turn the windage turret to zero it? 50/50 chance that it's either back to zero or another 6MOA off.
Zero stops on each one. Pretty easy fix
 

VLD Pilot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2017
Messages
1,974
Location
Northern, Mi
Or capped windage turrets, like the Viper HS LR scopes that I currently use.
That's the easiest fix. Apparently many don't like capped turrets. I use both methods. I have two Leupold Mark 4s that I made zero stops for both elevation and windage turrets. Really helps. Simple garden hose rubber washers did the trick.
 

Barehandlineman11

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
706
Location
Myrtle point
This happened to my dad yesterday we were hunting axis and rams in maui.. he missed one 98 yards about 6 hours after killing a axis buck. Went to range on ranch turret spun about 240 degrees and he saw it put it to zero well it was now out 360. Another reason i like my revic locking turrets
 

tucker87

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
10
Location
Piedmont, SD
Has anyone ever had an issue with an exposed windage turret on a hunting set up during a hunt? Like getting inadvertently spun off zero? The thought of one more thing to check all the time kind of bugs me. But March, Zeiss, Khales all offer their high end scopes with exposed, non locking windage turrets. I backpack hunt 90% of the time, rifle is either strapped to my pack or on my shoulder going through whatever terrain is in front of me for 5+ days at a time. Looking for experience from rough and rugged hunts. Thank you!
Never had that issue. I am more careful with my rifle than some, however.
 
Top