Equipment for Backpack Hunting

RockZ

I am from Fl and am I love hunting the hills out west. This past year in Idaho I got a rude awakening. I am in great shape for FL, but found I needed to work on my legs alot more for walking up those steep mountains for a week. I also needed a better backpack for hauling out meat as well as better fitting boots.
I had a great hunt, and shot a nice 5x5 mulie at 350yds while he was bedded, but we hiked in and out every day and stayed in a hotel. We hunted walk-in only areas and walked many miles a day, mostly up and down .
Much of the walking was in and out of the areas to get away from the other hunters who were closer to the roads.

It would be great to be able to hike out and stay out for a while.

What equipment would you experienced backpack hunters recommend?

We may even need to start a separtate thread for different equipment. Backpacks, tents, sleepingbags,etc.

Thanks

Last edited:
backpacking

I am not an expert but coming to Colorado from Michigan and hiking here, I have picked up a few things. Weight is everything and how it rides on your body is important also. Do you hike or jog with a pack on at home? If you don't have hills do stairs and lots of them and sand. When I got back into shape a couple years ago I point of working out when I was tired to stretch my stamina a bit. I would also shoot my bowand .22 after working out, concentrating on my form. Carry only what you need. Water will be the heaviest thing you will carry. I have an Alaska Pack from Cabelas. I am sure that there are better ones out there but it has served me well and it fits me. I am tall and some packs are just too short.

Here is a great start

RockZ,

Check these guys out.
KIFARU HUNTING & MILITARY GEAR
IMHO, this is the best gear for "High and Back". It's all made here in the U.S., and the customer service is excellent. Here is a picture of my camp this past fall,
100_0090.jpg