Entry Level AR 15 for first time buyers

richard33

I have been using a Beretta 92FS since 2019 and it is more comfortable to carry with me as a CCW. But I have not been able to do it for an Entry level AR 15.I am taking steps to building an AR 15 like the Ruger 5.56 , S&W M&P 15. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas about where I could know how to build a gun for entry level usages

Google it, lots of info on net. My first one i used the mil manual (available on the web)
I'd wager that parts are hard to find right now though. For cheap entry level you are better off buying complete

Last edited:
Building up a lower is simple. There are plenty of youtube videos on how to do it and it doesn't require any really special tools. Castle nut / AR Wrench for the buffer tube, but that's really it. It can be done at your kitchen table. I've literally built mine at the kitchen table or at my desk while on conference calls.

The upper is just slightly more challenging, but still very easy to do. You do need to torque the barrel nut, so you'll need a vise.

My opinion is to build the lower. Get a "cheap" forged lower and standard lower parts kits. Very easy to build.

Then buy a complete upper. I've found that its not really much cheaper to piece one together... and usually more expensive because you end up customizing parts.

Right now is not a good time. What parts you can find now are about doubled. Personally I like 18 and 20 inch stainless match barrels. 1:9 twist is good for 55 gr up through about 75 gr. get rifle length gas tubes. shorter barrel use Carbine and mid length gas tubes and they just beat the buffer weight to death because of the higher pressures of the shorter tubes because of where it is drilled into the barrel.

I've built several at many price points. The Aero Precision M4E1 Lower is my go-to lower for all my builds - I buy them bare and use top quality components in them. (By the way - 'Mil-Spec' is highly over rated)