Elk Hunting For The Layman - Part 1

ADMIN

Administrator
Elk are plentiful in most western states and can be hunted on private or public land, with or without a guide service, and in pre-established drop camps or camps of your own means. Private land hunts are usually guided hunts unless you are a native to the state and area you are hunting in. Locals or people with local knowledge can gain permission to hunt elk on private land sometimes for self-guided hunts by paying a parking or day pass fee to the property owner. Hunting on public land is usually more conducive to self-guided hunts.
Read More...
This is a thread for discussion of the article, Elk Hunting For The Layman, By T. W. "Tommy" Cornelison. Here you can ask questions or make comments about the article.

I have been hunting elk for just a couple years now, as I've recently moved to the southwest and most of my hunting experience has been northeast deer. One question I could never find an answer to was how much bullet energy is needed to bring down an elk with a well placed shot. This has been the first article I've found to address that question. Thanks...great read!

I have been trying to check into land owners that allow hunters to hunt on their land for little or no cost. The state that I was told about was Wy. I went on line to the Wildlife departments web site. But not being very familiar will the locations and the different types of hunting availble I was reluctant to lay out the tag investment. I believe that a small group in a guided hunt would be best for the first time, that is what i take from your article.:rolleyes:

i have hunted and lived in wyoming, colorado, montana and alaska. i was an elk and deer guide out of Hell's canyon in idaho.