Electronic scale power conditioner

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Doc88, Jul 7, 2018.

  1. Doc88

    Doc88 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Anyone using a power conditioner and/or ferrite choke beads with their scales? If so are you seeing a difference in reliability. I don't seem to be having issues but have been reading about them some. Thanks.
    Robby
     
  2. HARPERC

    HARPERC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,993
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    I'll tag along.
     
  3. RockyMtnMT

    RockyMtnMT Official LRH Sponsor

    Messages:
    4,359
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Tag

    Steve
     
  4. Biggs300

    Biggs300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    I use a power conditioner for my RCBS Chargemaster Lite and Gempro 250 scales also use a ferrite choker on the Gempro. It is built into the power cord on the Chargemaster. Honestly, I don't see any difference with or without the ferrite choker on the Gempro but, I do notice a difference when I went started using the power conditioner, especially in the summer months when the AC system is in use.
     
  5. RockyMtnMT

    RockyMtnMT Official LRH Sponsor

    Messages:
    4,359
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Help me out. What does the conditioner do?

    Steve
     
    HARPERC likes this.
  6. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,428
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    I tried to get my scale to mess up, by putting it near fluorescent lights, cell phone that’s being used, i can’t get it to mess up.
    Running single digit SDs and ES on most of my rifles.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
  7. Biggs300

    Biggs300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    A power conditioner (in power strip) helps maintain consistent current and minimizes spikes and/or other disruptions in power. I don't use florescent lighting, but do have wifi both on, and near my reloading bench. I don't know if the power conditioner or a ferrite choker for that matter, helps to minimize problems from wifi signals but, my scales don't seem to be affected by it.
     
    gohring3006, HARPERC and RockyMtnMT like this.
  8. dok7mm

    dok7mm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,014
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    I had some problems with drift related to power surges common to rural electric service. Got tired of having to rezero scales constantly, so I invested in a TrippLite conditioner. Over the last two years, I've not had any drift and it protects my scales against power surges and lightning strikes. IMG_20180708_133233818.jpg
     
  9. Doc88

    Doc88 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    So, you do NOT need a ferrite choke on a Chargemaster? That may explain why some do well and some need a power conditioner?
     
  10. Biggs300

    Biggs300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    I really don't know if it is needed or not as the Chargemaster Lite comes standard with the ferrite choker built into it's power cord. It certainly doesn't hurt to have them installed on a scale and if it reduces line noise, all the better.
     
  11. kiwikid

    kiwikid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    237
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    From memory ferrite chokes eliminate noise but will not protect from a major electrical surge as they become saturated and ineffective. Power conditioners or surge protectors even out the mains supply to protect the device that is plugged into it. We used to use UPS (uninterruptible power supply) on surveillance DVRs and NVRs not only so that the cameras would continue to record in a power cut but also due to them being good surge protectors. If, as I do, you live in an area with frequent power surges or lightening strikes it pays to replace your power conditioner as they can only handle so many surges and then they fail. They still appear to be working but the next decent surge will cook what ever you have plugged into it. I personally have power conditioners on my scales, TV and expensive electronic washing machine.
     
  12. Deputy819

    Deputy819 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    344
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    I also use the ferrite choker that came with my Gempro (only because it came with it). Don't have any comparisons as to the use of the scale without it. Haven't seen any drifting using it though like I have with my Hornady Lock N Load scale which doesn't have one.
     
  13. tim_w

    tim_w Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    EMI/RFI vs surge are different. Electric motors, light ballasts, etc can all cause it. Worst if its all on the same circuit or line. Also the quality of the scale's load cell and the various electronic components and com wires shielding if any. Some area have "dirty" electricity from service, bad grounds, etc that can create surges lower or higher voltage that spec etc while different they can all create issues. The later can actually damage the components and one of a few reasons why servers and high end electronics are usually powered thru a line conditioner that is usually part of an UPS unit be it. plug in consumer size or hard wired industrial. Most homes these days have lousy grounding which is backwards given all the electronics we all run theses days. Further EMFI is horrible these days as can be seen by so much issue with certain bands such as those run with WIFI in dense areas.