Early Season Whitetail Question

bryceh12321

I decided to set up a stand on our property this year, and also invested in a Scout Cam back in early August. The first few weeks I was getting about 3 or 4 deer a day on the cam. Now, I'll get about 1 or 2 a week if I'm lucky.

My question: Do deer travel back to previous spot where there was water and food, or will they just keep going and going until they come across the next location that suits them?

I'm new to bow hunting this early in the season and am starting to doubt it will be worth my time to hunt at this location. Any advice you have is appreciated.

Thanks alot.

I'm probably one of the least knowledgeable in this area, but if I were to guess, given a good food and water supply they will return. Deer won't move anymore than they have to unless pushed out or loss of food supply.

I wanted to get in on this thread to see what others say.

Whitetails have a summer "home" i.e. territory, and a winter "home". When they start shedding velvet is ususally when they start going to their fall/winter territory. During the summer they'll hang out in vachelor groups, and disperse around this time of the year (at least they do in this neck of the woods).

When you were getting more pics, were there pics of bucks together, and now you're only getting pics of a single buck or just does?

The deer will also move to different areas if a different food comes into season. What part of the country are you in?

It has been said that whitetail deer are born, live and die inside the same square mile. While I think this is a bit of an exaggeration, I think there's some truth to it. As long as there is food, water and shelter a deer will only move-on if he is pushed by another deer, the food/water source in your area runs out or a more desirable/more easily obtained food source is found elsewhere.