Duplex Reticle - At a disadvantage?

Marine24

I recently purchased a Nikon Tactical 2.5-10x44 scope. The scope came with Nikon's Nikoplex reticle, which wouldn't have been my first choice but the price was too good to pass up.

I plan on mounting it on an AR15 with a Burris P.E.P.R mount. Principle purpose is cutting paper and as a varmint rifle. I'd like to reach out to 600 yards but admittedly I'm new to mildot/ranging reticles and turrets that allow me to dial in elevation changes.

My experience is with hunting rifles and staying within the maximum point blank range of a particular round. When shots presented themselves beyond that range or I need to compensate for wind, holdover and Kentucky windage was the method I used.

I'll have a range card for the rifle and only shoot one load in this rifle. I'll also rely on a laser range finder to help with distance to the target.

Does the duplex reticle present a disadvantage given the intended purpose?

Stu: Thanks. Kind of my thinking as well if I have the correct dope on the rifle/round combination. Compensating for the wind could get interesting, but that has always seemed like more of an art than a science.

Wind in Colorado always has the tendency to change what it is doing the moment before the trigger breaks.

Mike

You are right about the wind! I always dial for the wind and then try and take the shot when the wind is the same as what i have dialed for, can be frustrating though.

Stu.

A duplex can still be used similar to other "tactical" reticles.....within reason.

Set up a target with inch grid lines at exactly 100 yds.
Look through the scope and determine how much distance (in inches) there is between the X in the middle and the thicker portion of the vertical wire below the X.

If that distance is 3", then you have an automatic 3 moa (approx. but very close to true moa) hold over or windage marker.

If that distance is 5", then you have a 5 moa marker, ect.