Drawing a sheep tag

Blueman

I'm new to the world of sheep hunting and I know one of the hardest parts to sheep hunting is getting the tag. I'm 25 years old now and want to draw a tag before I'm 100. Any advice on drawing? Also can a US citizen apply in Alberta or is it strictly for people that live in canada?

Thanks for the help!

Apply apply and apply some more. Put in for every state available. In Canada you have to buy a guided hunt period. You can also purchase a prime minister tag however for being a young 25 I'm sure you probably don't have a minimum of 250k- 500k laying around lol

Sheep hunting is a very fun addiction, the smartest thing you can do is apply. Especially at your age.

I've taken 2 Desert rams, a Dall, and Rocky. I've also taken a Gobi Argali, Transcapian Urial, and two Marco Polos. Next on the list is a Stone and High Altia Argali...need to save some more cash.

I like the adventure in sheep hunting.

Good luck!!!

Only people not good at math apply without knowing the individual states draw systems and if a tag is even possible for a guy just starting out.

Last edited:
Just starting out you will likely never be in a top point pool so your chances at drawing will be limited to the random draws. Some states are more generous than others.
AZ allocates 20% of the total in the bonus pass but no more than 10% can go to NR. So, the first 20 tags go to those with the most points. If they don't fill the NR cap, as a NR you still have a chance but you're in the hopper with all the residents and because AZ is a bonus point state, your chances are weighted based on points. Just starting out you have few chances at a low number vs guys with 20. If Az allocates 100 tags, 20 go in the bonus round and no more than 10 will go to NR, so when you get to the 1-2 pass you only have a handful of tags available and thousands of applicants. If all 10% go in the bonus pass, there are no tags available for a NR in the 1-2 pass. There is no tag to draw.