Do I need to remount my scope?

Brydawg512

I just took the barreled action out of my Savage Accustock, leaving my scope and bubble level attached. I just reinstalled the action and set my rifle so the bubble level was centered. I taped my small level from Wheeler onto a popsicle stick and slid it underneath the scope and tried to hold it flat on my pic rail, and the bubble level on my scope and popsicle stick were about 1/16 to 1/8" difference, assuming because the popsicle stick is not dead straight/level.

Do you think I should remount my scope to ensure level?

Thanks in advance

I would give it a range session and if it holds like you expect...do nothing.

I'm REALLY new to this all... are we just talking about putting the crosshairs on the target, we hit where we pointed and we're good? Is 100 yards okay or should I extend the distance?

With sand bags...shoot dead on and I mean dead on at 25 yards....once you shoot basically a ragged hole with 3 shots dead nuts...move to 100. With sand bags.. Goal should be a 1" group at 100 I would think with 3 shots if it's a sporter.....maybe a 5 shot group with a bull barrel. Your rig and ammo may only be capable of 1.5 inches at 100. Outside of 1.5 inches I'd re-think the mount.

There are all kinds of potential issues here. The rail might not be level to the bore, the "glue" job not level to the stick-that's not level to the bore, the reticle might not be level in the scope...blah, blah, blah
Have you checked the reticle? Done a tall target test? What precision (groups) is your rifle/load producing? How far you wanting to shoot? You dialing the turrets or using a reticle?