Do I need a 20 MOA base?

Titaniumman

Hi all, this is my first post. I just purchased a Model 70 Winchester in 270 Win. I am putting a 4-16x50 scope on it. I am new to long range shooting but my idea of long range is maxing out in the 500-600 yard range. I just recently discovered the 20 moa scope bases but don't know if they are something I need in this case. Will a conventional base setup be sufficient? This is a hunting application, not strictly punching paper. What do you say?

You really wouldn't need a canted base unless your gonna push the limits of your chosen caliber.

That being said if you choose to dial the yardage vs. hold over or using your reticle for aiming you might find it nice to have the added moa adjustment it allows. If your not dialing there is really no need for one.

JwH@406

I am going to add turrets to my scope once I find a load the new rifle likes. This whole project is a step out of the box for me. Everything I've ever owned has had a good ol' 3-9 variable with a 200 yard zero.

Titanium man ,,,,,,

for your particular rifle/caliber/scope configuration, I think a 10MOA cant rail is more than enough ,,,,,,,

that way you won't run the risk of running out of scope adjustment to the upside ,,,,, depending upon which scope you end up choosing ,,,,

The scope is going to be a 4-16x50 Vortex Viper HS with the V-plex reticle. I'm going to put Kenton Ind. turrets on it after working up the load data.

Anyone have a recommendation for the appropriate base and rings?

I believe you could go with Burris signature rings with the offset inserts and put in what you need. I have never used them but some of my buddies said they work well. Maybe somebody with experience will post. Matt