Do garbage bags and meat mix

Clint Tyler

Just wondering if It is bad on the meat if you put it in a plastic garbage bag then in you pack when packing out an animal. Trying to keep pack and gear blood free. This would mainly be during early season August/September any other ideas or tips welcome.

The most important thing is quickly get it cooled.

Plastic bags aid in maintaining the warmer temperature and may enhance spoilage.

The plastic bag works well if you can get the meat into it and sink it in the creek to cool down.

I've heard of people soaking the whole animal in the creek after field dressing.

BTW, what's wrong with blood stains on things. That's what memories are made of.

I've been using garbage bags for more than 25 years. If there's something wrong with it, I haven't been told as of yet. Yes, I've heard rumors that chemicals from the plastic could permeate the meat, but for the short time the meat is in the bags, I'll take my chances. I figure it's better than the alternative of dirty meat and dirty clothes, backpacks, and tents. I like to keep the blood off my pack and clothes because I don't want to draw bears in while I sleep in the middle of the night. I'm not afraid of the dark - I'm afraid of what's in the dark that I can't see.

figure it's better than the alternative of dirty meat and dirty clothes, backpacks, and tents. I like to keep the blood off my pack and clothes because I don't want to draw bears in while I sleep in the middle of the night. I'm not afraid of the dark - I'm afraid of what's in the dark that I can't see.

I agree 100%, no reason to be lazy and dirty and get meat dirty. Bloody clothes, packs, boots are a real problem at night. At night, I am not interested in anything that is called fair chase. I am interested in winning only and at night I might lose. I don't like losing when my life is on the line.