Determining Precision COALs

Brasshole

I have been reloading for many years but always stuck to max COAL in my reloading books. Now that I am retired from the Marine Corps, I have more time to hunt which is driving me to precision loads for long range hunting. I am shooting a Tikka T3x in .300 WM. What is an easy way to determine the optimum overall length and bullet seat depth to reduce jump and run your tip to the lans? Hope the question makes sense. Thanks.

Before you go to far down the rabbit hole and spend money you may not need too, why don't you check your magazine and see how much room you have. A hunting buddy has a Tikka 300 WM and the magazine doesn't let you get very close at all to the lands.
Agreed! Find the best compromise on COAL/CBTO for the bullet you are trying to load on your specific set-up, not on others.

You can make a dummy round seated long. Use a sharpie to color the ogive and chamber it. keep seating a little deeper until you can close the bolt with marks from the lands just starting to take the marker off and you will have your length. I got that from the load manual I got with my RCBS kit in 1991 and it has worked ever since. There may be easier ways. Welcome to the site and thanks for your career of service. Semper Fi.

Have you heard of the Hornady modified case gauge? That's what I've used for years. Mono's and bonded usually about 0.050", and I'll do the berger method on cup and core.

I've never done the Alex Wheeler method but I know a lot of people swear by it. Just Google it.

You can make a dummy round seated long. Use a sharpie to color the ogive and chamber it. keep seating a little deeper until you can close the bolt with marks from the lands just starting to take the marker off and you will have your length. I got that from the load manual I got with my RCBS kit in 1991 and it has worked ever since. There may be easier ways. Welcome to the site and thanks for your career of service. Semper Fi.
Thank you Sir.