Definition of a long range hunting rifle?

dicktaylor

I'm a newbie seeking information. From what I've read so far, my impression is that a long range hunting rifle must be in a cartridge for which match grade bullets are available, with a high ballistic coefficient. Barrels must be of match quality and long. Actions must be worked over for proper alignment. I haven't figured out the preferred trigger pull weight. The cartridge selected must deliver sufficient downrange energy to kill the animal being hunted (I haven't figured out what the minimum would be for pronghorn antelope or Coues deer, the smallest big game species I might hunt, or for other deer, elk, caribou or moose. I also don't know how far "long range" is for the different species or what scope magnification is required. I know there are numerous and demanding skill requirements for the shooter - just want to clarify equipment requirements.

Dick, long range can mean different things to different people.
A guy used to shooting a 30/30 would feel like a 400 yard shot is long distance, Other people feel that 2000+ yards is long distance.
As far as equipment and bullet selection your right on course. Quality and consistant components make all the difference. A 1 MOA gun at a hundred yards will never compete against a 1/2 or 1/4 MOA at 1000+ yards.
There is a ton of info in this forum with many informative articles, plus many people are great about giving advice . Good luck