Custom barrel on factory action

matt_3479

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
1,136
Location
Southern Ontario
So money is tight as I have another rifle being built but once again getting the itch to get a 300. Win mag back, especially with my moose hunt coming up again. I came across a factory remington 700 xcr II bedded into a McMillan HTG stock, ptg bottom metal and accurate mag, vias muzzle brake and badger bolt knob for a good price. But current owner isn’t the original owner and doesn’t know round count. If barrel is shot, would it be worth it to throw an aftermarket barrel on it without blueprinting the action
 
Last edited:

matt_3479

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
1,136
Location
Southern Ontario
Well I’m in Canada so pricing would a lot different for us. But it’s 1500. He said previous owner said there was 340 rds down and he just started playing with it so he said less then 400 but I know how that can go sometimes.

Mcmillan HTG would be roughly 1000-1200, bolt knob would be 60, vias 125, ptg 250, and bedded so it doesn’t seem unreasonable. The xcr II or sendero’s are 1700-1800 new.
 

Deviant

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2018
Messages
528
Location
Nebraska
I'd take it to a smith and bore scope it to check for throat erosion. If all else fails just find a load for it and see if it will shoot and you can always rebarrel it and have the action trued and blueprinted later if accuracy goes down hill.

Al
 

howco

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
394
I say go for it. Look how many of us buy/sell/barely break a barrel in with load development for hunting, then change directions. I would think that you have enough barrel life to get a moose load developed with the unknown. I know it happens, but me personally, have never meet anyone who wore out a 300 win mag barrel
 

jasent

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2010
Messages
652
Location
deer park, wa 99006
I have a toasted 300wm barrel laying in my smithy. I say go for it. If it’s burnt up give nss a call. Bet he has a barrel on the shelf for it ready to ship
 

matt_3479

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
1,136
Location
Southern Ontario
I say go for it. Look how many of us buy/sell/barely break a barrel in with load development for hunting, then change directions. I would think that you have enough barrel life to get a moose load developed with the unknown. I know it happens, but me personally, have never meet anyone who wore out a 300 win mag barrel
I wore out my last 300. Win mag. Exact same rifle just with an HS stock and it shot awesome! But once I wore out the barrel, I sold it to a buddy who wanted to rebarrel it to a 7mm-300 win mag
 

jpd676

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2010
Messages
488
Location
Jackson Hole, WY
I bought a 7mm mag with an unknown round count (rem 700) at the cost of what an action is worth. I purchased a Criterion Remage barrel and put it on without truing the action. It has consistently shot under .5 moa and often times I can squeze a .25 moa out of it.
 

MudRunner2005

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
14,708
Location
Alabama
All of my customs are factory actions... Mostly all Rem 700's that have been blueprinted, but I also have a blueprinted Browning A-Bolt II custom 7mmRM that is my main deer rifle.

All the internet bullcrap about custom actions being more accurate is a load of ****. The barrel, and how well the rifle is blueprinted and assembled makes all the difference, not the name on the side of the action.
 

matt_3479

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
1,136
Location
Southern Ontario
All of my customs are factory actions... Mostly all Rem 700's that have been blueprinted, but I also have a blueprinted Browning A-Bolt II custom 7mmRM that is my main deer rifle.

All the internet bullcrap about custom actions being more accurate is a load of ****. The barrel, and how well the rifle is blueprinted and assembled makes all the difference, not the name on the side of the action.
Maybe I worded it wrong. My main reason for asking is, do you see putting a custom barrel on without blueprinting the action. Like I had mentioned, money is tied up pretty good on my 6mm build going on right now. But if the 300 is shot out and needs a new barrel. Can I get away with putting a barrel on without blueprinting or am I somewhat just doing it wrong. If I wasn’t on more of a budget the thought wouldn’t even cross my mind I would just blueprint.
 

Trending threads

Top