Couple Beginner Questions

slvr98svt

Hey guys, I am just starting to look into getting a LR gun to take to the range and have some fun. I am kind of doing this on a budget and after reading the "long range on a budget" article on here I have a pretty good idea what I am after. Not sure how far out I want/can reach with this setup? Like I said I am all new to LR stuff.

Start out with a Stevens 200 in .308 Winchester
Per the article - SSS Competition Trigger
Looking at the Choate Ultimate Sniper Stock
SSS High Capacity Detachable Mag

Now like I said I am just starting out, but I don't want to skimp on optics and want to upgrade in 6 months. So I was looking at the Bushnell 4200 6-24x50 Mil-Dot. I have read that a 20MOA base is not enough if you want to reach out to 1000yds. So what rings and base should I be looking for?

Also as far as muzzle brakes go...Do I need to change barrel's from the beginning, can I stick with the stock one for now? What brake do you guys suggest?

How about bipod as well?

This will most likely just be a range rifle. Not going out hunting with it, just want something worthwhile to go long distance for a hobby gun.

Thanks Alot, and sorry if the questions seem dumb! I am looking at learning as well as possibly doing the assembly myself if I can. If I can't then I will def. have a professional do it.

-Matt

A 308 shooting 175 Federal Gold Medal Match ammo should reach 1000 yards with 40 MOA of elevation. It will stay supersonic to about 1200 yards give or take a little.

So with a 20 MOA base you will need a scope with about 50 MOA of vertical adjustment or more.

You will not need a brake. A good recoil pad such as a limbsaver will be enough.

Harris bipods are pretty much the standard. Get the one with the swivel base and notched legs. For me I am comfortable with about 9 inches so you can get a short one or a medium one.