Cooper Model 52 Sporter vs Nosler M48 Patriot Liberty

Xtremetj

So forgive the new guy but I just can't find much information or reviews on the Nosler rifles. I know the Coopers are great shooters (so I hear) never owned one but I've never heard anything negative about them. Reading about the Nosler rifles leads me to believe it's a pretty good set up...

Is the Copper with the extra $600?

I'm looking at them in 6.5x284. The Cooper has a laminate stock and stainless barrel which I absolutely love, just don't know if it's with the extra cash? Could put the extra cash towards the optics.

Anyone spent any time with the Nosler's?

Thank in advance for you thoughts.

Greg.

If you are going for a 6.5x284 you are very likely going to use !40 VLD's for long range work. The Coopers are well proven using these bullets in their 1:8 twist barrels and a chamber that is well mated for optimized loads with the 140's. I have no experience with the Nosler in 6.5x284 but it's hard to imagine Nosler testing their rifle with anything but their standard hunting bullets, or the lighter 129gr LRAB's. All 6.5x284 factory rifles are not created equal. The Cooper is proven and this may be worth the extra $$$.

Last edited:
I have a Cooper Excalibur in 6.5x284 and it is a sweet shooting rifle. I handled the model 48 patriot and I was not really impressed. If I had a criticism for the cooper it would be the safety more like a switch than a safety. The bore barrel fit and finish are all excellent action is smooth as silk. Not so with the Nosler.

Good luck and shoot straight

Bob