Consistancy in zero

jmbn

I've got a 25-06 that I've been using for close to 30 years that shoots 3/4" groups all day long, but any difference in temperature will put the group into a different zero. I've got a 270 and a 7mm Rem mag that are very consistant in this regard, as was an earlier 7 mag, and is my buddie's 270.

Have any of you come up with a logical reason for this? I have a Ruger #3 that has never shot well (unlike two #1's that I have)and I've decided that rebarreling it would be a worthwhile project as soon as I can make up my mind as to what caliber. Most of my deer hunting is out of a backpack so I don't want anything really heavy; a good honest 500 yard rifle will do fine. I'm leaning towards a 270 Weatherby, simply because I don't have one, and it will do what I want in terms of velocity, but I'm concerned about consistancy as mentioned above. Dan Lilja recommends the 270 Weatherby but he believes that one cartridge is not more consistant than any other, and that my experiences with the 270 and 7 Rem mag are simply co-incidence

Any comments on this? I've been reloading and putting together custom rifles since the 222-250 was a wildcat and I'm reasonably knowlegable for a stupid amatuer.

jmbn

If I were you I would give a strong look at the 270 or 7WSM......We have taken deer out to 750 yards with a STOCK Win M70 Coyote out of the box 270WSM shooting 135gr MatchKings at 3200fps..

Everything I been seeing with the 6.5wsm lately, man I'd jump on one of them in a heartbeat if even considering what you are. It is absolutely amazing at the 30" barrel length, the Ruger still would be real short with a 30 or 32" bbl too and 3250-3300 fps with a 140 is real doable at under 65k psi, I can tell you that much. Something you might look into.
smile.gif

S1 has a good bit of experience with this wildcat too.