Comments on Progressive Presses

Ian M

I have the opportunity to work with a couple of top quality progressive reloading presses and can make a few comments that some folks might find interesting. Presses are the Dillon 550B and the RCBS Pro-2000.
Having used Rockchuckers and a Co-Ax for decades I was slightly intimidated by the more complex progressives - probably because I am not good at following written instructions, hate to waste time reading when a person could be cranking.
First, the instruction manuals were not as good as they should have been. Some assembly was not in a logical order, some info was lacking, photos were fair to good. This was with both presses.
The RCBS is big and heavy compared to the Dillon - the difference being cast iron vs aluminum. RCBS is double the weight, much bigger in mass.
Dillon went together easier.
RCBS has five stations, rounds move counter-clockwise while Dillon has four stations and rounds move clockwise.
Both come with powder measures, the Dillon is amazingly accurate considering it is low-priced and simple, the RCBS is their standard measure c/w micrometer adjustments - accurate and reliable but expensive.
Setting up either model is a "get out the manual" deal for me - I am an un-mechanical person and also have virtually no ability to remember such things. This goes for changing calibers, or heaven-forbid, changing from large primers to small primers.
Fact is they intimidate the hell out of me, about like trying to figure out a VCR.
RCBS bolts directly to the bench, the Dillon is best mounted on a steel bracket that elevates it above the bench a foot or so.
RCBS uses a more sophisticated priming operation, requires plastic primer strips that require more learning but they work nicely. Dillon uses a heavy protected tube system that is reliable, poorly explained in their manual.