Clean bore vs dirty...

Bigeclipse

Ok All...I am new to muzzleloaders and had a quick question. My muzzleloader(CVA optima V2) groups very nice with 777 pellets and 250 grain TMZs. I get about an inch at 100 yards so NO complaints there (this after a fouling shot). The only thing I did notice is the CLEAN bore shot actually goes about 4 inches low(this is consistant) I tried MANY clean bore shots and everytime they were about 4 inches low of the dirty bore shots. So here is my problem...I CANNOT shoot fouling shots the mornings of my hunts (my father-in-laws property and he is crazy anal about things including no shooting before light) and obviously you cannot leave the bore dirty on these muzzleloaders over night as they can start rusting/corroding so for this weekends hunt I decided to simply zero my muzzleloader for the clean bore shot and just remember that my follow up shot will be 4 inches higher at 100 yards. But in the future...I was wondering what you all do about the clean bore thing. I even tried dirting the clean bore with firing several primers and that didnt work. Still went low.

Just a suggestion and what many shooters with the same rifle have done, is to purchase the breech plug to shoot BH209. Then go ahead and fire your fouling shot, load it and leave it loaded.

DON'T take it in and out of a warm vehicle or from the bitter cold inside the house. BH doesn't suck up moisture like the other propellants do. Leave your case where its cold and put it back in the case after hunting, then if you want to take it into the garage over night, the case won't let that quick burst of warmth to the rifle. It'll allow it to warm to garage temps without sucking up moisture. It is recommended that you use an oil cloth for the outside of the rifle though.

If.... you're worried about moisture when using BH, put a piece of electrical tape over the muzzle.