Chosing a Smith"

BrokenHorn

Chosing a Smith\"

I'm doing my reaserch to build me a gun. I pride myself in being able to do as much competant work as I can. I can easily do a lot of the work myself, but I do need a Smith to square the action and barrel with each other.

I have never used a "Smith" before. So when I go to visit them and their shop what do I look for to know that I am getting a good one?

Thanks for your help.

Re: Chosing a Smith\"

Number one thing to do, ask for references and get ahold of prior customers of that gunsmith.

A gunsmith can advertise all they want about how good their rifles are if you ask them. The key to getting the honest unbiased trueth is to see that the actual rifles will do and to talk to their owners.

The final result, the rifle is the grade of a quality smith, not the tools he used, not the technique he uses, not the componants he used, its the finished product that tell weither they know their skill and are worth hiring to build you a rifle.

Good Luck in your search.

Kirby Allen(50)

Try to find a smith that builds what you want, especially when talking custom guns. Go to matches, ranges, etc to find people who shoot his guns and talk to them.

There are a lot of smiths that are known for specialty work on LR guns, tactical rifles, AR 15s, Short range BR guns, shotguns, stocking, painting stocks etc.

Also, Ideally you want one locally that you can deal with and talk face to face. Now that may not be possible, so go with one who has the references in the specialty area you need.