Changing barrels

KSB209

I've been thinking about swapping my barrel on my 300WM to a Proof carbon to shave off some weight. I have no knowledge on doing it myself so I'm taking it to a smith. Question is....does it really matter who changes a barrel? I'm wondering if I should send the rifle and barrel to a reputable smith out of state or can anyone with the knowledge and tools do just as good of a job. Is there something I'm missing? I just don't know if it really matters for a simple task like swapping barrels.

Simple swap can be done by (just about) anyone. Make sure the guy you're working with has done a few of your action types in the past. Remington 700's a pretty straight forward with the correct tools (action wrench, barrel vice, "go" and "no-go" gauges), appropriate reamers. Your 'smith should know how to set-up the action and barrel to be concentric ("run out") so that when the reamer is run in to the new barrel, everything is dead on. There's more detail to it, but that should at least give you some questions to ask to determine if the 'smith you're talking to knows his stuff. From there, get a couple of references, and call them.

There is a huge difference between buying a prefit barrel for a barrel nut set-up (which is an easy DIY project if you are comfortable with setting the headspace) and having a barrel chambered and fitted to your action. The latter requires a lathe and associated tooling, precision measuring instruments, and considerable knowledge to do it correctly. If you are talking of a standard shouldered barrel (not one with a nut to lock into position) you will be sending it to a gunsmith unless you are willing to invest major $ and time for the proper machine tool/tooling/measuring equipment. I have the access to all the tooling/gauging and have run machine tools; my gunsmith does all my chambering/fitting.