CFE223, 2000-MR in 308. School me please....

Michael Eichele

The rifle range, or archery range or behind the co
Well guys, I am always interested in trying something new but time has been tight this year and I'm slowly getting back into the range time. Anyway, I read about guys running CFE 223 and 2000-MR powders in the 308 Win. What has been your experiences? Bullet weights? Velocity? Finicky? Temp sensitive? Fouling? Extreme spreads? Load density?

Anyway, I'm just looking to see if they're worth the time and money. I'd only be using either for 185-210 grain pills.

Thank you in advance!

Regards,

M

I just loaded up a bunch of 308 and 7mm-08 with CFE223 after repeatedly seeing it on the top (even above Varget) for velocity vs. pressure within loading data. I'm optimistic and will report.

I bought CFE 223 for use in my .223 and 22-250. I am just getting started with it, but it shows promise. I toyed with it in .375 H&H with Barnes bullets and may revisit that effort later. There, again, it showed promise, but needs more evaluation.

I saw a comment in another thread where someone was recommending CFE 223 over RL-17 for the 208 AMAX in .308. At first blush, I thought that to be absurd. Being very close to BLC-2, I figured that CFE 223 would only be useful in .308 with 150 grain and lighter bullets. However, QL has CFE 223 within 50 fps of RL-17, at the highest OBT predicted accuracy node, with the 208 AMAX from a 26" barrel. Could be worth a look. I have seen reports that CFE 223 is very temp sensitive, but have not verified that claim myself.

This whole thing also has me curious to try Hodgdon Superformance with this combo. Too bad it is not a powder supported by QL. I would have to work with it the old fashioned way.:D

I have an unopened jug I bought to load in my .223. I have not had a QL update in a while. I need to get one with, sure I'm missing some of the newer powders. No experience yet with CFE, but plan to start testing early next year.