Can you have too much head space?

Calpster

Hello all,
I'm new to longrange shooting forum and have an issue with reloaded brass (norma brass). Is it possible to bump the shoulder back too far and bolt won't engage the shell base? The shell falls out of chamber but will not be extracted by the bolt. No sticking in chamber just will not "hook up with extractor".

What type of extractor? More than likely, you have an extractor problem. R700 factory extractors can do this quite often. I have seen it 3 times on 3 different rifles.

I have seen some new virgin brass on non-belted cases as short as .014-.017" before fire forming to a particular chamber, and still have no issues extracting the live round from the chamber.

A little more info like rifle, cartridge, etc. might help.

You are saying the bolt will close with the cartridge inserted but upon opening the bolt it will not extract? I have never heard of that but the answer to your title is yes, yes you can have too much headspace.

I would agree it sounds like a broken extractor issue but we need to see more here, can you provide pics and measurements of the brass as well as the cartridges info.

There are so many reasons that this can happen that you need to take it to a reputable Gunsmith to be checked out, To much head space is definitely bad but unless it is beyond .006 or .007 it is probably not the problem. If it has a broken extractor, then it could also be the problem.

There are many cartridges that are similar and if placed in the wrong chamber would not extract even if the bolt closed. The chamber could be labeled wrong also. (I have seen this more than Once)

I would not recommend firing the rifle until this problem is solved because it could be very dangerous.

Have it checked out buy a Smith that has the tools to do a proper job.

J E CUSTOM

Have you ever fired this rifle? Is the rifle new or left over from WWI?
Does it have a Mauser type claw extractor.
What make/type and caliber rifle?