Bullet depth

dracer173

I'm very new at this just trying to learn, If I get a load for a rifle from Nosler load Data for what ever bullet I will be using and it gives the OAL for that load do I have to measure bullet depth in my rifle? also on my 338-378wby same question only not sure how to measure it because of all the free bore ?

Last edited:
When you are just starting out reloading the best thing to do is set your bullet seating depth to achieve the COAL listed in your reloading manual. There's plenty of crazy confusing things to get into later, and spend hundreds if not thousands of dollars on, but for now since you are just starting out go with overal length and you'll have fun.

When you are just starting out reloading the best thing to do is set your bullet seating depth to achieve the COAL listed in your reloading manual. There's plenty of crazy confusing things to get into later, and spend hundreds if not thousands of dollars on, but for now since you are just starting out go with overal length and you'll have fun.
Thank You

More or less, by using the seating depth of a manual without knowing the details of the reamer and chamber they used to run that data, you should be okay in terms of trusting that you won't get a pressure that is too high. Most of the major manufacturers use conservative approaches to what they publish in their manuals. This philosophy includes giving some description of what they use to test in terms of example rifles or test bbls.

Once you read enough and start down your road of learning to develop loads, you will get the hang of what the shared data really means and what you should expect to get. I tell beginners to start with a 5.56, .308, or .30-06 for the sole purpose of getting their learning curve under the benefit of a huge body of standardized test beds and pet loads. Once they survive their learning curve, they have the experience to go off into less charted territory with much higher confidence and safety.