Bullet choice for moose

The video was linked because the OP was asking about bullet choices for moose and he was currently set up for 170 gr berger. I thought it was relevant. The shot placements don't look too bad on the first two. The guy who made the video said they didn't reach the chest cavity, I assume that he got a close up view of the situation.

Tried to watch the video but could not do it because of that lame music, just does not work

L:DL! Music is not too bad, just watch it muted, you'll still get the gist of it.

I'm no expert but I tend to agree on Rhian's assessment of the video.

IIRC, (unless I got you mixed up with someone else), you have an awesome video of a moose hunt that either you or your daughter harvested.

Cheers!

Ed

I'd say the first shot was a bit forward but not terrible. Second shot looked perfect.

Maybe the 3rd shot was with a hunting bullet.

Steve

My first comment was snarky. I apologize for that.

I watched the video closely again. In my opinion both shots should have gotten the job done. The 1st shot was identical to my son's first elk. Same distance and shot placement. He was shooting 6.5-06 with 130g Siroccos. His shot was a few inches too far forward as well. The Sirocco went through the biggest part of the shoulder bone took the front of the lungs and then through the big shoulder bone on the far side. We found that bullet in the meat butchering her. The cow pushed herself down the hill on her chest with her back legs for about 30 yards and was dead. She was anchored and had no lungs.

The second shot was in the crease spot on. No two ways about it. I tried to find something wrong with that shot. No brush, as good as a hunting shot gets.

When the 3rd shot was taken you can see the entrance wound from the 1st shot. You can see it in the video after they recover her too. It is right in the meat of the shoulder. Not exactly where I would have wanted it, but should have got it done.