Budget range finder?

BlackSS

Is there such a thing as a range finder that will be accurate out to say 800 yards for $200 - $300?
I have really just started looking at them and am not finding a whole lot of feedback.
Suggestions?

Im pretty sure the leupold 1000 goes for right around 300. It works pretty good but not as good as the leica or swaro. If you have the extra cash I would go that route. Its worth it. Iv had both. Iv also heard bushnell makes a pretty descent one but have no experience with it. Good Luck and hope this helps!

I'm by no means an expert in this area but I do have a Nikon 800 that will get upgraded asap. It readily picks up and gives good readings out to 450 yds. Occasionally, it does pretty good out to 500, sometimes 600 if the light is just right. Rarely will it pick up out to 700 or beyond. It is quiet aggravating when you want/need to range a deer or groundhog and can't get anything but "- - -".
In its defense, it will give readings if the object is big enough, say a barn or a vehiicle but who shoots at or toward those? The animals don't stand by those objects! It usually picks up evergreen trees pretty good too. Deer at 600 yards? could be hit or miss, most of the time, miss.
Save yourself some hassle and get a Swaro or Leica. More money but better electronics/glass, from what I've read/heard.
There may be others out there that I'm not aware of. JohnnyK.

I'm by no means an expert in this area but I do have a Nikon 800 that will get upgraded asap. It readily picks up and gives good readings out to 450 yds. Occasionally, it does pretty good out to 500, sometimes 600 if the light is just right. Rarely will it pick up out to 700 or beyond. It is quiet aggravating when you want/need to range a deer or groundhog and can't get anything but "- - -".