Browning x bolt

Gills

I recently started playing around with a browning x bolt western hunter in a 26 nosler. I pulled the stock off to lighten the trigger up and man I am telling you the bolts holding the stock to the trigger where terribly tight. Does anybody know what the torque spec for these two bolts (holding stock to action) is?

Talked with browning this morning they said to tighten these bolts to 18 inch pounds. In case anybody else has the same question

Funny... they said 45 inch pounds 2 years ago. Heck, scope bases are torqued to 22-25 inch pounds and rings to 17-20 inch pounds. 18 inch pounds would be pretty loose on an action screw that size.
Most manufacturers suggest 45-55 for synthetic stocks and about 45 for wood stocks.
X-bolt action screw holes in the stock lack circumferential support on the rear screw, proba ly the reason for only 45 lbs. My X- Bolts shoot .5 moa at 45 inch pounds, but then again I never saw a need to experiment further.

That's interesting. Maybe the guy I talked to just shot me a number. I do know that kimber recommends 10 on their mountain ascent rifle. I ran into troubles in accuracy on one and talked to them after dropping to ten it started grouping well.
But thanks for the input you have wondering if this info I got from browning was right I may email them again just to see if I get a third number

Talked with browning this morning they said to tighten these bolts to 18 inch pounds. In case anybody else has the same question

That sounds more like scope ring torque than action screws. Maybe those Browning folks are so busy counting their money that they never had the time to shoot a rifle, or at least adjust their own adjustable trigger.