Box Test - what does this mean?

tlk

Box test this last weekend. I have repeated this test a couple of times and get the same results. I would expect the groups to remain the same but they are not. What do you make of this?

boxtest1.jpg

1st group is my zeroed group is 0.233" (probably cannot see the details), and includes my return to zero shot. I am not counting the cb shot for this test.

2nd group is low right - 0.572".

3rd group is high left - 0.443"

4th group is low left - 0.793"

5th group is high right - 0.258"

Is there something wrong with the scope or me? How can I dial through all of these shots and not get but one group that is consistent with my zero?

Thanks for your help.

I have no idea how experienced you are at this so if some of these concepts or questions are elementary I apologize up front.

it is a bit hard to read your target. How for away was the target for the box test?

Any wind issues you were dealing with?

What scope?

Did you change power magnification during the test?

I assume you and your gun can consistently shoot groups similar to the center one?

There are a lot of different ways to do box tests and a lot pitfalls that you can run into that you have to work through to figure out the real problems. I know a couple guys that simply can't shoot as tight of groups once they start box testing scopes. It is weird but I think it is a mental thing. They know where the center group should go based on their shooting but they start dialing and they loose that confidence I guess and their groups open up a bit every time. I can shoot that gun and get the same groups all around. So first make sure you are executing those box test shots the EXACT same way you do the center shots.