Black Bear with a pistol

Govcolt45

My friend was trying to talk me into going on a black bear hunt with him, he tells me that a 1 or 2 45acp+P rounds would be able to stop a bear, given that hes no furthure than 30 yards, I would rather use a 1oz riffled 12ga slug or my 300rum. Can any one give me any helpfull advice if a 45acp from a pistol could stop and kill a black bear or not.

Govcolt45, Are you hunting over dogs? If so, you are going to be shooting short range. The Hornady 230 gr FMJ/FP would probably work. Or the Hornady XTP loads are pretty good too. You'll need proper shot placement, but over dogs most bear hunters around here used to use a 357 Mag or 41 Mag in a short barrel when chasing hounds (before the US Humane Society financed a new law that stopped hound hunting!!). If you are going to be shooting longer ranges, I'd go for a bigger caliber. Good luck.

I have no experience with this first hand but my neighbor took a 400 pound B Bear last spring with .357s. His 3 shots made it into the vitals and his friends 3 shots stopped right against muscle after expanding in the fat layer.

.45 acp is not a fast round and penetrates using bullet weight (somewhat). I would choose your bullet construction well so it dosen't open up before it gets to the good stuff. No flying ashtrays. And as always, practice practice practice, then sprint for a hundred yards and practice.

Ian M is the taker of many bears. I would hope that he puts in on this topic.