Best Scope For the Best Price

mnasif19

I've just recently started long range shooting and I am trying to get the necessary equipment. I was wondering what scope I should put on my R700 .270 that will help with 700+ yard shots for the best price. As a college student I'm on a budget. Also any advice will much appreciated on practicing and what not. I'm still learning about MOAs and ballistic calculators and all that stuff but have a basic idea. Any advice will help. Thanks and happy shooting.

I've just recently started long range shooting and I am trying to get the necessary equipment. I was wondering what scope I should put on my R700 .270 that will help with 700+ yard shots for the best price. As a college student I'm on a budget. Also any advice will much appreciated on practicing and what not. I'm still learning about MOAs and ballistic calculators and all that stuff but have a basic idea. Any advice will help. Thanks and happy shooting.
A used Leupold VX-III or Mark 4 in the 6-20x50mm or 4.5-14x50 wold be the best you can get for the money. They can usually be had in the 700-800.00 range and Leupold's lifetime warranty applies no matter how often the scope changes hands.

Inside of 700yds the VXIII 3.5-10x50 would be my choice (again used) and they can be had for under 600.00.

Other than them the Zeiss Conquests would be my next choice again, in the same power and objective ranges.

I was looking at a Vortex Viper PST at a gun show the other day, looks really good and has a sweet reticle. $699.

I have a Nikon Monarch 6.5x20x44 UCC with fine crosshairs, I think it's a great scope for out to 1000 yards, they don't make the model anymore but if you can find one they should be in the $300 range.

What features are you looking for in a scope? It will be much easier to give you some good options if we know exactly what you are looking for.

Are you looking for a BDC or graduated reticle?
Are you going to dial the turrets for various shots?