Best scope for a beginner in long range shooting

Blake smith907

Hello, my name is Blake . I am looking at getting into somewhat long range shooting . And am wondering what scope would be ideal to get . I've been hunting for 10 years , and made many shots out to about 300 yards, but want to be able to extend that to about 800-1000 yards. My buget is 1500$ for my scope . What would you suggest

I would have to recommend the Nightforce SHV. I think this is the most economical scope for what you get. It has great glass quality and very dependable turrets. We teach Long range shooting classes at my range and see a lot of different scopes. One of the first things we do when creating a ballistic profile is check turret accuracy. We do this by using a tall target test to validate a turret is moving your point of impact the way it should. The only scope manufacture we have had zero turret issues with is Nightforce and the vast majority of those scopes have been the SHV. We have also had good results with the Vortex PST but the glass quality is not on par with NF in my opinion.

Hello, my name is Blake . I am looking at getting into somewhat long range shooting . And am wondering what scope would be ideal to get . I've been hunting for 10 years , and made many shots out to about 300 yards, but want to be able to extend that to about 800-1000 yards. My buget is 1500$ for my scope . What would you suggest

Welcome to LRH and enjoy!

SFP or FFP?

Blake I am in the same boat as you so to speak. The one I have pretty much chosen so far is the SWFA SS HD 5X20X50. IT'S MIL MIL TOO. worth checking out.

Best of luck

That's why I asked if he's looking for SFP or FFP; I have a non-illuminated version on my .300 WSM and very pleased with it. All my scopes are SFPs except for my last 2 purchases (Burris Veracity 4-20x50 FFP for $630 and SWFA 5-20x50 HD FFP for $1000).

I have to say, I've enjoyed transitioning to FFP. :):Dgun)