best long range caliber

matty ny

hey guys im new to sight and was just wondering if i was to buy one gun what caliber should it be? Someone told me 300 or 338 rum . just wondering thanks matty

Do you want to keep things simple or entertain a little more work? And, what exactly are you planning on using it for?

One simple gun only, that is overkill on a lot of stuff: I'd go 338 Lapua. You get the best brass and a bigass bullet and there is no other caliber that can champion it to any real noticeable margin, IMO.

You want some pizazz? 338 Edge, one of Kirby's calibers, 338 Lapua improved...

You want anything in between: I'd go 300 RUM with a 210 Berger VLD first. I cannot think of much of anything this won't handle.

There are way too many choices.

If we were next to each other shooting at 2 elk at 950 yards, I'd be just as comfy with my 7mag and a 180 VLD or my 300 RUM and a 210 VLD even if you had any 338 configuration. And, I don't think you, the elk, nor I would be able to say something is more lifeless than the other.

Picking one gun is just like picking one woman. She's out there somewhere, just start grabbing some tush and see which one cranks your tractor, because she's got to handle every situation you want to put her in. :D

hey guys im new to sight and was just wondering if i was to buy one gun what caliber should it be? Someone told me 300 or 338 rum . just wondering thanks matty

I don't think that one caliber will do everything but there are some that will be close.

My recommendation would be the 300 RUM even though it is overkill on some game.

It can be loaded with heavy bullets and take just about any living thing.

It can also be loaded down to 30/06 levels for a less powerful and recoiling round.

They seam to be inherently accurate and very easy to load for.

Just my choice.

J E CUSTOM