Bergara HMR Pro or Weatherby Accumark Elite?

DBBarton80

So I have an opportunity to get either or for a really good price. I am thinking 300 win mag,300 PRC, or 338 Lupua. Bergara currently doesn't offer a 338 Lapua to my knowledge. So if I went with Bergara it would be 300 PRC or possibly a 300 win mag. As for the Weatherby it would be 338 Lapua or 300 win mag. I know Bergara is a rem 700 footprint so stocks or aftermarket parts are easy to come by. As far as the Weatherby Accumark Elite I am leaning towards the 338, but considering a 300 win mag. I am looking for opinions or feedback for both manufacturers. I have no experience with Weatherby. I am looking for a reliable accurate rifle that I can shoot steel at 1000 yards plus, but I also want to be able to hunt with if i decide to. I am going to get one or the other. The Weatherby only weighs 8.4 lbs. Just wondering how the recoil(338) is with there carbon fiber stock. They both seem like really solid factory rifles. I reload and have dies and powder for 300 PRC or 300 Win. I heard a rumor that Bergara is going to have a 338 Lapua in the LRP. Any and all feedback would be appreciated.

I cannot talk about the Weatherby, but the two Bergara's I have load develop for are very accurate in the B14 HMR, the HMR Pro should be just as accurate. I would go Bergara, you already listed the Pro's with the 700 footprint. The weight would be the only Con. My vote would be 300 PRC in Bergara, that is the cartridge I was looking at in my next Bergara.

I have had more than 30 Mark Vs with the more modern synthetic stocks form Accumarks to Ultra Lightweights, Safaris, and Weathermarks. They have all been very accurate and easy to tune with most bullets. That includes most of the Weatherby calibers and standard 270, 243, 7mag, and 300Win. They build a fantastic rifle.

That's like asking if you want a strawberry cheesecake blizzard or a red velvet cake blizzard.

They are both absolutely excellent. No bad option.