Bent sight pins?

IdahoSpud2

I'm fairly new to archery. Today was opening day and I hiked way back into the mountains. I called a nice bull in to 30 yards and took a shot. What should've been a fairly easy shot right into the vitals hit low left In his shoulder. The arrow immediately came out and he seemed almost unfazed. I trailed him for over 1 1/2 miles before it went cold.

I noticed half my sight pins were bent up and to the right. This is the first time I've taken my bow into brush. I bent them back down as close to where they should be as I could. After hiking out and getting to the truck I noticed they were bent again.

what the hell? Is this normal or do I have some really crappy flimsy sight pins? Does anyone know of some site pins that will not bend? I'm pretty bummed about not only losing my elk but also injuring one. I never want this to happen again.

You must be catching the pins on something as you are walking. Most pins are not all that robust, if you are going to hike a lot you may need to look at a different type of sight or get a cover for this one. My concern would be, if you are catching stuff hard enough to bend pins, what other damage are you doing to the bow. To answer your question, bending sight pins is definitely not normal, I have never damaged any part of a bow while hiking, even in thick bush.

You must be catching the pins on something as you are walking. Most pins are not all that robust, if you are going to hike a lot you may need to look at a different type of sight or get a cover for this one. My concern would be, if you are catching stuff hard enough to bend pins, what other damage are you doing to the bow. To answer your question, bending sight pins is definitely not normal, I have never damaged any part of a bow while hiking, even in thick bush.
Thanks for the reply. I understand no pin is going to be bulletproof. But I can easily been these pens with just the tip of my finger. That doesn't seem right?
That doesn't seem right?