Bedding polypropylene stocks

4LClover

Not sure if this is old news but I recently discovered that the use of Valspar plastic primer on the "cheap" factory polypropylene stocks will allow the bedding compound to adhere very well to the stock. All that is required is a little roughing of the bedding area with a dremel and then a light spray of the primer. Wait a couple hours and you are good to go.
I discovered this while bedding a T3 (and nearly going insane in the process).
After some farting around I found a way of bedding the T3 that is pretty slick.:)
happy hunting!

...on the "cheap" factory polypropylene stocks...

Being a newbie I purchased a couple to just orientate myself, practice setting up, etc. Cutting the stuff makes a mess and would make a wonderful bird nest.

I'll try your suggestion...did you eek any accuracy out of it?

I have yet to try shooting the bedded T3's and A7's. They already shoot real good as is.

The stocks are actually pretty stout and well engineered compared to all of the other brands of polypro stocks I have worked on. The Finns build good rifles for sure.

I will let you know if the accuracy improves.

The article "stress free pillar bedding" has some good info. I changed release agent based on this guy's recommendation and started using steelbed which is close to Devcon as near as I can tell. This stuff is waaaay easier to work with than acraglas.
Stress-Free Pillar Bedding

4LCLOVER

On bedding the T3 lite what did you do with the reverse recoil lug? You know the metal bar thats where the recoil lug would be?

I thought about removing it and using Devcon in place of it..... Or grind the front of it back and then bed...

My rifle is a left hand T3 Lite 300wsm.

Slewfoot