BDL bottom metal, does it matter?

ohiohunter

Well to my dismay it looks like my adl build is gonna be a bdl. Does it matter what bottom metal I use? Is there any advantages of going w/ a ptg over factory bottom metal?

Depends on what stock you are using. B&C accepts PTG quite easily, but Williams not so much. H-S is the other way around, Williams fits nicely but leaves PTG sitting 'proud', which to me is unsightly. McMillian will work with either. If you are ordering from them directly, just specify which brand. Don't know about Manners and some of the others as I've no experience with them. Expect all to require some inlet type fitting.

So its about fit and finish not functionality? I'm getting a mcmillan but on the phone the guy didn't seem to concerned about which bottom metal was to be used. So now I'm kind of in a grey area with it.

Whenever I order I get an "e-mail confirmation" and it has my order number. You might give them a call (have your order number handy) and double check with them. A phone call is cheap to make sure it's right. Might be a 'link' in that "confirmation e-mail" for questions.

PT&G bottom metal is nice stuff. Bottom metal is bottom metal though and factory or PT&G are both functional. I would always choose aluminum for my builds though, no reason to add weight for no reason. Even on a heavy rifle I'd pick the aluminum, add the weight in the barrel where it'll do some good if you feel the need to go heavier.