Barrel Break In?

Hi,
I am pretty new to slug guns with rifled barrels.
I will be buying a new H&R Ultra Slug Hunter and a Nikon Prostaff 3-9 to mount on it.

This is probably a pretty noob-ish question but,
Do any of you do a barrel break-in with your slug guns like you would do with a new rifle?
If so, how should I go about it?

Also,
what else can I do to improve the accuracy?
I'd like to have it shooting as accurately as possible.
My ultimate goal is to get 4" groups at 200 yards.

Thanks in advance,
Evan S.

I have no definitive answer when it comes to barrel break in. I think I accidentally broke in the barrel of my Savage 210 back when I got it in 2002. I knew nothing of barrel break in at the time. I purchased a couple different winchester loads some federals and lightfields. I shot 2-3shot groups of each load cleaning in between brands to try to give each load a fair chance in my little accuracy competition. None of the groups were bad and I would have felt comfortable hunting with any of them. I ended up using Winchester HI-Impacts only because a local retailer was closing out on them and selling them cheap. I have since switched to Win Platinum tips and have loved them.

As far as accuracy goes here is what I try to do. By no means do I call myself an expert, just giving my experiences. Try as many different slugs as you can afford, I use a caldwell lead sled for all my slug gun shooting, I try to sight in as calm a day as possible, and the heavy recoil from slugs can jar things loose so check screw, scope mounts, etc. every so often.

On a seperate note my leica rangefinder has helped me stay within known limits and make ethical long shots.

Hi,
I am pretty new to slug guns with rifled barrels.
I will be buying a new H&R Ultra Slug Hunter and a Nikon Prostaff 3-9 to mount on it.

This is probably a pretty noob-ish question but,
Do any of you do a barrel break-in with your slug guns like you would do with a new rifle?
If so, how should I go about it?