Ballistics Question?

scsims

This is an odd question but I have always wondered when a bullet is fired from a fast moving vehicle such as a fighter jet, what happens?

If the jet is traveling nearly as fast a bullet, then fires a bullet the bullets would then be traveling twicw as fast as one would from a stationary gun.

Does the construction of the bullet need to different to handle the friction? How does it differ ballictically?

I don't know about the bullet construction, but the speeds will add, so if the plane is going the same speed as the bullet, and the bullet is shot in the same direction as the plane then the overall bullet speed will be twice as fast.

I'm a rocket scientist and not a jet fighter scientist so I don't know at what speeds they fire bullets out of jets. A bullet shot at 3000 fps is about 2045 mph which is faster than our fighter jets. Back in ww2 the prop fighters relied on machine gun fire instead of missiles but they didn't go very fast. Even at 500 mph which adds about 733 fps on the bullet for a total of 3733 fps isn't a problem. Even in Vietnam with the F-4 phantoms they were not as fast as todays jets but certainly they used a lot of machine gun fire. I don't know at what speeds in a dogfight they were accurate, but at 1000 mph the combined bullet velocity is up to 4466 fps. I think todays jets at 1500 mph primarily use missiles.