Ballistics Program that Includes Scope Clicks??

Ckleeves

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
935
Location
Montrose, CO
To get the number of clicks you would just multiply x4, so if it calls 8.25 then that would be 33 clicks or 33 1/4 minute adjustments to make 8.25 minutes. It’s much easier to just spin the dial to 8 then add the one click to make the .25 vs actually counting to 33.
 

Ingwe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
1,032
To get the number of clicks you would just multiply x4, so if it calls 8.25 then that would be 33 clicks or 33 1/4 minute adjustments to make 8.25 minutes. It’s much easier to just spin the dial to 8 then add the one click to make the .25 vs actually counting to 33.
In your previous post, you said if it calls for 8 then click 8...but in the above you say multiply by 4?

Am I missing something?
 

Ckleeves

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
935
Location
Montrose, CO
Turn to 8 moa on the dial. This is assuming 1/4 moa clicks. To convert moa into “clicks” multiply by 4 if it’s a 1/4 moa scope. The turret should be clearly labeled each moa.
If it calls 2 moa then it’s 8 clicks
5 moa is 20 clicks
6 moa is 24 clicks
7 moa is 28 clicks
8 moa is 32 clicks.
See the pattern?
 

zerosprk

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
98
Location
Northern New Mexico
My scopes come with 1/4" clicks, not 1/4 MOA, meaning 4 clicks = 1.00", not 1 MOA.
Your confusion might be right here^^^. Your scope ISN'T 1/4" per click. It is 1/4 moa per click. Keep in mind that you will likely have to round up or down slightly because you have to deal in 1/4 or .25 moa increments at a time. So if your app tells you that you need 8.3 moa, then you need to get the turret to 8.25. Make sense?
 

FEENIX

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
20,971
Location
Great Falls, MT
I have been pulling my hair out with Strelok Pro for a week now….too complicated for me! I cannot understand it even after watching several videos
No different than any other ballistic app. One of the advantages of Strelok Pro is that they have the majority of scope reticles, i.e., Ballistic E1 FFP, 4-20x, Burris.

Ballistic E1 FFP, 4-20x, Burris.png
 
Last edited:

Ingwe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
1,032
I would love to get strelok working but the numbers aren’t coming out right…it’s way over my head
 

Ingwe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
1,032
Turn to 8 moa on the dial. This is assuming 1/4 moa clicks. To convert moa into “clicks” multiply by 4 if it’s a 1/4 moa scope. The turret should be clearly labeled each moa.
If it calls 2 moa then it’s 8 clicks
5 moa is 20 clicks
6 moa is 24 clicks
7 moa is 28 clicks
8 moa is 32 clicks.
See the pattern?
So to simplify it, when it says for turret adjustment, “8 MOA” just multiply that number by 4 and that’s how many clicks to make?
 

Ckleeves

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
935
Location
Montrose, CO
So to simplify it, when it says for turret adjustment, “8 MOA” just multiply that number by 4 and that’s how many clicks to make?
Exactly. But what many of us are saying is you don’t need to count clicks. The turret on pretty much every modern scope meant for dialing is clearly labeled in moa, hence there is absolutely zero reason to count clicks or multiply x4 or any of that nonsense. If your calculator says to dial 8 moa, you would simply dial the turret to 8 moa. No counting clicks, no multiplying, just turn the turret to 8.

Quick example on why, let’s say you’re shooting wayyy out there. Calculator says to dial 22 moa. Is it faster to count 88 clicks OR is it faster to know that your scope has 20 moa in one revolution so you spin one complete rev and then set the turret at 2 moa on the second rev? You can do it the second way in less then 3 seconds and have a bullet in the air before your done counting 88 clicks.
 

LVJ76

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
3,872
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Your confusion might be right here^^^. Your scope ISN'T 1/4" per click. It is 1/4 moa per click. Keep in mind that you will likely have to round up or down slightly because you have to deal in 1/4 or .25 moa increments at a time. So if your app tells you that you need 8.3 moa, then you need to get the turret to 8.25. Make sense?

I am sure those scopes are 1/4", but now I am doubting myself. I'm going to have to check. These two scopes are old, the 18x40 sits on my Smallbore Silhouette 22lr Anschutz, the further it is used at is 100m. The 6.5x20 on my Highpower Silhouette 7mm-08, the further I shoot this one is at 500m at the rams. So it doesn't see any long range shooting, I shoot it at the same distances every time, and the dial ups are usually the same every time.

My hunting rifles scopes are all MOA.

But now I have to check to make sure on the target ones. Thanks
 

338 dude

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
5,056
Location
Tn
Hello Fellas,

Just wondering if anyone can help me out here. I have used the JBS Program for several of my rifles but I do not see a column for scope clicks.

What I mean is that I would like to know besides the listed drop in inches etc, is how many 1/4" scope clicks will it take to get to the different ranges

For example, I am sighted in at 100 yards...how many verticle clicks to get me to 150, 200, 250, and so on

Is this available, or am I missing something?

Thanks Fellas!
Shooter
 

Ingwe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
1,032
Fellas, this is a chart for an airgun sighted in at 10y yards. So now, the column that says “Drop MOA” is that the click value that I multiply by 4? As in 50 yards 12.1 x 4 or do I just make 12.1 clicks?
 

Attachments

  • FE94581A-7B2B-4E5D-B4DC-025A0EDA274F.png
    FE94581A-7B2B-4E5D-B4DC-025A0EDA274F.png
    247.8 KB · Views: 9
Top